The International Pepper Community is an intergovernmental organization of pepper producing countries. The Community now includes India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Sri Lanka and Vietnam as permanent members and Papua New Guinea, Philippines as an associate member.
The IPC was established in 1972 under the auspices of the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (UN-ESCAP). The IPC Secretariat is located in Jakarta, Indonesia and is headed by an executive director.

Membership to the Community is open to all pepper producing countries, with the unanimous consent of the existing members and by acceding to the agreement establishing the Pepper Community.


The representatives of member countries hold the office of the chairman. Each chairman holds the office for one year.


The Community carries out its functions through its Secretariat based in Jakarta, Indonesia. The IPC secretariat is regulated by the government of Indonesia and is headed by the executive director appointed for a stipulated period at the session of the Community.


For executing its functions the IPC Secretariat coordinates with member countries through a network of liaison Officers. Their responsibilities include the development of the pepper industry and national focal points that deal with pepper in their respective countries.


The International Pepper Community maintains close contacts with the United Nations Organization and its special agencies. For carrying out its functions smoothly and effectively, the Community consults and seeks assistance from these experts.


YearExecutive DirectorCountryChairmanCountryIPC Conference
2023Firna Azura EkaputriMalaysiaMr. Chee Fong CheahMalaysia2023 Kuching, Sarawak
2022Firna Azura EkaputriMalaysiaMs. A.P.P. DisnaSri Lanka2022 Hybrid, Bali
2021Firna Azura EkaputriMalaysiaMr. Djatmiko Bris WitjaksonoIndonesia2021 Online, Jakarta
2020Hoang Thi LienViet NamShri D Sathiyan IFSIndia2020 Online, Jakarta
2019Hoang Thi LienViet NamMr. Chu Van ChuongViet Nam2019 Vung Tau Viet Nam
2018Hoang Thi LienViet NamMr. Ravi MuthayahMalaysia2018 Putrajaya Malaysia
2017Hoang Thi LienViet NamMr. Bandula WikramarachchiSri Lanka2017 Kandy Sri Lanka
2016WDL GunaratneSri LankaMr. Iman PambagyoIndonesia2016 Jakarta Indonesia
2015WDL GunaratneSri LankaDr. A. JayathilakIndia2015 Mysore India
2014WDL GunaratneSri LankaMr. Tran Kim LongViet Nam2014 Ho Chi Minh Viet Nam
2013Subramanian KannanIndiaMr. Samsudin NoorMalaysia2013 Serawak Malaysia
2012Subramanian KannanIndiaMr. Vajira NarampanawaSri Lanka2012 Colombo Sri Lanka
2011Subramanian KannanIndiaMr. Gusmardi BustamiIndonesia2011 Lombok Indonesia
2010Subramanian KannanIndiaMr. V.J. KurianIndia2010 Cochin India
2009Dede Kusuma IdrisIndonesiaMr. Odilson Luiz Ribeiro e SilvaBrazil2009 Belem Brazil
2008Dede Kusuma IdrisIndonesiaMs. Hoang Thi DzungViet Nam2008 Ho Chi Minh Viet Nam
2007Dede Kusuma IdrisIndonesiaMs. Nurmala Abd. RahimMalaysia2007 Kuala Lumpur Malaysia
2006Anandan A. AbdullahMalaysiaDr. IllangasingheSri Lanka2006 Kandy Sri Lanka
2005Anandan A. AbdullahMalaysiaMr. Dede Kusuma Edi IdrisIndonesia2005 Bali Indonesia
2004Anandan A. AbdullahMalaysiaDr. Pos M. HutabaratIndonesia2004 Yogyakarta Indonesia
2003KPG MenonIndiaShri C. J. Jose, IASIndia2003 Cochin India
2002KPG MenonIndiaMr. Saadul Baharim Abdul MutalibMalaysia2002 Serawak Malaysia
2001KPG MenonIndiaMr. Roberto Proeca PassarinhoBrazil2001 Belem Brazil
2000KPG MenonIndiaDr. Somkid DistapornThailand2000 Chiang May Thailand
1999KPG MenonIndiaMr. MAR KularatneSri Lanka1999 Colombo Sri Lanka
1998Dr. SN DarwisIndonesiaMR. IGK MendraIndonesia1998 Bali Indonesia
1997Dr. SN DarwisIndonesiaMr. V. JayasangkarIndia1997 Cochin India
1996Dr. SN DarwisIndonesiaMr. Amha BuangMalaysia1996 Serawak Malaysia
1995Dr. SN DarwisIndonesiaMrs. Emidio Coelho PereiraBrazil1995 Belem Brazil
1994Mohamed IsmailMalaysiaMrs. Maliwan RattanaprukThailand1994 Chiang May Thailand
1993Mohamed IsmailMalaysiaMr. Zulkifli SiregarIndonesia1993 Bali Indonesia
1992Mohamed IsmailMalaysiaMr. T. Nanda KumarIndia1992 Madras India
1991Mohamed IsmailMalaysiaMr. Anuar KhabarMalaysia1991 Kuala Lumpur Malaysia
1990Mohamed IsmailMalaysiaMr. Richardo LG AlvesBrazil1990 Belem Brazil
1989AG NasutionIndonesiaMr. Daojat HusnanIndonesia1989 Yogyakarta Indonesia
1988AG NasutionIndonesiaMr. M.R. SivaramanIndia1988 Goa India
1987AG NasutionIndonesiaMr. Ahmad Zubeir Hj. NoordinMalaysia1987 Serawak Malaysia
1986AG NasutionIndonesiaMr. Valdemar Carneiro LeaoBrazil1986 Salvador Brazil
1985AG NasutionIndonesiaMr. Janus J PitoyIndonesia1985 Surabaya Indonesia
1984LN SaklaniIndiaMr. BadrinathIndia1984 Bombay India
1983LN SaklaniIndiaMohd. Yusof BasirMalaysia1983 Kuala Lumpur Malaysia
1982LN SaklaniIndiaMr. Luiz Henrique Pereira de FonsecaBrazil1982 Belem Brazil
1981LN SaklaniIndiaMr. Bujang bin H. UlisMalaysia1981 Bali Indonesia
1980LN SaklaniIndiaMr. Darry SalimIndonesia1980 Cochin India
1979LN SaklaniIndiaH. Ismail bin H. AhmadMalaysia1979 Kuala Lumpur Malaysia
1978LN SaklaniIndiaDr. Sumardi ReskoputrantoIndonesia1978 Yogyakarta Indonesia
1977LN SaklaniIndiaMr. Mohan DhariaIndia1977 New Delhi India
1976LN SaklaniIndiaMs. Adawiyah ZakariaMalaysia1976 Bangkok Thailand
1975UN-ESCAPThailandMr. A.C. GeorgeIndia1975 Bangkok Thailand
1974UN-ESCAPThailandMr. A.C. GeorgeIndia1974 Bangkok Thailand
1973UN-ESCAPThailandMr. A.C. GeorgeIndia1973 Bangkok Thailand
1972UN-ESCAPThailandMr. A.C. GeorgeIndia1972 Bangkok Thailand